This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing to use this website, you consent to our use of these cookies.

News Detail

Student-Athletes Recognized at Spring Sports Awards

Congratulations to the following student athletes and coaches who were recognized during the Spring Sports Awards on Thursday, May 23. The ceremony included 7 students signing letters of intent to play collegiate sports, the athlete of the year awards, and individual team awards.

Jon Woods Award: Catherine Sar ’19
Athlete of the Year: Helen Noone ’19, Caison Dillon ’19, Carson McCorkle ’20
Frank Brenner Award: Kristin Hitchcock
OB Teague Award: Ed Billingslea
Collegiate Signings / Letter of Intent for Spring Sports
Baseball – Edmund Kayhko ’19 – Louisburg College
Baseball – Aaron May ’19 – Methodist University
Baseball – Brian Smart ’19 – Mars Hill University
Baseball – Jack Ratiliff ’19 – Barton College
Lacrosse – Caison Dillon ’19 – High Point University
Lacrosse – Lee Dunn ’19 – Dickinson College
Soccer – Jacinta Fernandes-Brough ’19 – Swarthmore College
Varsity Baseball
Coach’s Award: James Sumner ’20, Brian Smart ’19
MVP: Edmund Kayhko ’19
All-Conference: Edmund Kayhko ’19, Zach Ross ’20
Varsity Soccer
Coach’s Award: Brenna Holden ’22
MVP: Madison Howard ’20, Jacinta Fernades-Brough ’19
All-Conference: Madison Howard ’20 (Player of the Year), Jacina Fernades-Brough ’19, Noel Harris ’20, Charlotte Munsey ’21, Enna Bosse ’20, Caroline Doss ’20
PTAC Co-Coach of the Year: Kim Burroughs
All-State: Madison Howard ’20, Jacinta Fernades-Brough ’19
NCSCA All-Region: Madison Howard ’20, Jacinta Fernades-Brough ’19
2019 PTAC Champions
Varsity Track and Field
Coach’s Award: Cathy Chen ’20, Nick Saunders ’20
Most Improved: Kiersten Kohler ’23, John Sanders ’21
MVP: Tori Frahm ’21, Oliver Kreimer ’22
All-Conference: Alexandra Green ’23, Tori Frahm ’21, Caroline Ferguson ’21, Claire McDowell ’23, Kiersten Kohler ’23
Varsity Girls Lacrosse
Coach’s Award: Elsa Rose Karcher ’19, Greta Andersen ’22
All-State: Helen Noone ’19
Varsity Boys Lacrosse
Offensive MVP: Caison Dillon ’19
Defensive MVP: Karlton Gaskin ’19
FACEOFF Award: Lee Dunn ’19
All-State: Caison Dillon ’19
All-American: Caison Dillon ’19 
Varsity Boys Golf
Coach’s Award: Noah Dunn ’19
MVP: Brooks Olin ’20
All-Conference: Ben Jordan ’22, Brooks Olin ’20, Harrison Tuck ’19
PTAC Coach of the Year: BJ Szafran
2019 PTAC Champions
Varsity Boys Tennis
Coach’s Award: Michael Trentini ’19
MVP: Colter Cox ’22
Carlton Harris Award: Warren McWhorter ’22
All-Conference: Warren McWhorter ’22 (Player of the Year), Rett Grewal ’20, Carter McWhorter ’22, Noah Hahn ’21, Colter Cox ’22, Michael Trentini ’19
PTAC Coach of the Year: Mara Montana
All-State: Warren McWhorter ’22, Rett Grewal ’20
2019 PTAC Champions
2019 NCISAA State Runner-Up
Greensboro Day School develops the intellectual, ethical, and interpersonal foundations students need to become constructive contributors to the world.