This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing to use this website, you consent to our use of these cookies.

Freddy Johnson receives the 2020 Morgan Wootten Award for Lifetime Achievement in Coaching High School Basketball by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced today the winners of the 2020 Morgan Wootten Award for Lifetime Achievement in Coaching High School Basketball. This prestigious award presented by the Elks Hoop Shoot is named after Morgan Wootten, who served as the Head Coach of DeMatha Catholic High School in Hyattsvile, Maryland for 46 years and is one of four high school coaches enshrined into the Basketball Hall of Fame. The annual award recognizes two outstanding high school coaches, one for boys’ basketball and one for girls’ basketball.

“The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame is proud to annually honor the legacy of Hall of Fame coach Morgan Wootten while recognizing high school coaches who use their platforms to positively impact the lives of their student-athletes,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “While victories are important, Mr. Wootten taught us there is a greater value placed on the impact coaches make on players that carries on to their future endeavors and we applaud Coach Johnson and Coach Prudden for their efforts.”

The 2020 winner of the Morgan Wootten Award for boys’ basketball is Freddy Johnson from Greensboro Day School (Greensboro, North Carolina). Freddy Johnson became the head boys’ basketball coach at Greensboro Day School in 1977. At GDS, he has compiled an overall record of 1080-300, a winning percentage of 78.2%. He is the winningest coach in North Carolina high school basketball history, reaching the 1,000-win milestone in November 2017. His teams have appeared in 19 North Carolina Independent School Athletic Association State Championship games, winning a record 11 state championships. His teams have also won 27 conference championships, and he has been the Conference Coach of the Year 23 times. He was the USA Today North Carolina Coach of the Year in 2015 and theBallisLife.comNational Coach of the Year in 2017. Johnson has coached in seven all-star games, including the 1997 Capital Classic All-Star Game, the 2013 McDonald’s All-American Game, and the 2017 Jordan Brand Classic. He is an inductee in four Hall of Fames, including the North Carolina Sports Hall of Fame in 2016.
The 2020 winner of the Morgan Wootten Award for girls’ basketball is Jill Prudden from Oak Ridge High School (Oak Ridge, Tennessee).

The Morgan Wootten Award winners were selected by a nationally based committee of Hall of Famers, national high school media members, tournament directors and others who have significantly impacted the game.  

Coach Johnson will be recognized for this award at the Basketball Hall of Fame Luncheon on April 1 at the DoubleTree by Hilton – Houston Greenway Plaza. 

To read more about this award, go to http://www.hoophall.com/news/naismith-memorial-basketball-hall-of-fame-announces-winners-of-2020-morgan-wootten-award-presented-by-the-elks-hoop-shoot
Greensboro Day School develops the intellectual, ethical, and interpersonal foundations students need to become constructive contributors to the world.