Skip To Main Content

2024 Faculty Awards

2024 Faculty Awards

At the end of each school year, GDS is proud to honor exceptional faculty members with the awards listed below. Congratulations to this year’s award recipients!

The James P. Hendrix Jr. Award for Excellence in Teaching is presented annually to a faculty member who exemplifies the highest standards of teaching and professionalism. This year’s recipient is Carol Williams (pictured above).

The Carla D. Dowler Tradition of Caring Award is presented annually to a member of the preschool/lower school community (teacher, parent, or other adult) who reflects an approach to learning and life that values kindness and sensitivity to others, a determination to succeed, a love for learning, and an abiding respect for teaching children. This year’s recipient is Carolyn Buck.

The Brooks Endowment for Sabbatical Leave is presented to encourage research, writing, and unique cultural experiences. The multicultural emphasis creates the opportunity for our teachers to expand their own horizons and then to return to teaching to share a renewed and different sense of purpose with their students. This year’s recipient is Melissa Lehman.

The Alumni Extra Yard Award is presented annually to two recipients by the GDS Alumni Association. This award recognizes teachers who go “above and beyond” to impact another person’s life, a program or their community. This year’s recipients are Nathan Ross and Jillian Williams. 

The Edward G. Dickinson Environmental Award is named in honor of the first recipient, former Middle School Director Ed Dickinson, who championed sustainability initiatives and education on this campus throughout his 35-year tenure at GDS. This award is given annually to a student, faculty or staff member, board member, or group within the GDS community who have exhibited extraordinary environmental leadership. This year’s recipients are the fourth grade teachers and students.

The Russell Andrew Britt Faculty Award encourages and equips interested faculty to promote the exploration of the natural world, to coax creative expression, and to influence their students through teaching. The award was created in memory of alumnus Russell Britt ’97. This year’s recipients are Karen Baldwin, Liana Blue, and Parker Stall. Karen and Liana will attend the Teacher Workshop in Conservation Science at the San Diego Zoo. Parker will travel to the Costa Rica rainforest.

The O.B. Teague Handshake Award is presented to a faculty coach who has made a difference to the lives of our students, faculty, and coaches. This year’s recipient is Connor McDade (Varsity Boys Lacrosse Head Coach).

The Frank Brenner Coaches Award is given annually in recognition of Frank Brenner’s dedication and commitment to excellence within the Greensboro Day School athletic department. This year’s recipients are Tamera Thorpe ’15 (Varsity Girls Basketball Head Coach) and Kyle Gilmer (Varsity Baseball Head Coach and Middle School Green Girls Basketball Head Coach).

The Community Cornerstone Awards, presented for the first time this year, are given annually to the faculty and staff who best exemplify and live the qualities of Respect, Kindness, Integrity, and Responsibility. This year’s recipients are Jesse Case, Chanel Green, Will Muse ’97, and Steve Tollie.